Monday, January 18, 2010

Karma Theory Part 5: Charitra Mohaniya Karma

 In Karma theory Part 4 I have mentioned that Charitra Mohaniya Karma is divided into two parts
1. Kashaya and 2. No-Kashaya.
Kashaya are further divided into four groups of four each. These are
1. Anantanuvandhi
2. Apratyakhyanavaraniya or Apratyakhyani
3. Pratyakhyanavaraniya or Pratyakhyani
4. Sanjwalan 

These four groups demonstrate capacity of a Kashya to restrain Atma from ascending Gunasthana. Anantanuvandhi resists Atma to obtain Samyaktwa and keeps in Mithyatwa.

 Apratyakhyanavaraniya or Apratyakhyani resists from taking any vows keeps Atma in Avrati stage.

  Pratyakhyanavaraniya or Pratyakhyani resists Atma from obtaining monk hood or complete vows. It resists Jeeva from total sacrifice and keeps in Desh Virati stage.

 Sanjwalan Kashaya restricts Jeeva from obtaining Veetrag dasha i.e. total abolution of Mohaniya Karma.
These four Kashaya (Each) are further classified into four categories according to the nature of the particular Kashaya. These four are

1. Krodh (Anger)

2. Man  (Ego)

3. Maya (Deceiving)

4. Lobh (Greed)

Hence, Kashaya are of 4X4 types i.e. 16.

No- Kashaya: Here "No" means supporting. There are nine No-Kashaya those are not themselves Kashaya but act as catalyst to Kashaya. These motivates and provoke Jeeva to act on Kashayik Bhava or Parinam.

1. Hasya (Laugh)

2. Rati (Liking)

3. Arati (Disliking)

4. Bhay (Fear)

5. Shok (Mourning)

6. Duganchha or Jugupsa (Hatred)
 Above mentioned six are referred as Hasyadi Shatak.

There are three Veda which are also included among nine No- Kashaya. Veda represents sexual desires.

1. Purush Veda (Male sex)
2. Shtree Veda (Female sex)
3. Napunsak Veda (Impotent)

Please note that these Veda are not related to physical appearances but to sexual desires.
Sixteen Kashaya and nine No- Kashaya altogether are twenty five types of Charitra Mohaniya Karma. While we include three types of Darshan Mohaniya karma we get a result of twenty eight types of Mohaniya Karma.

Please remember that Mohaniya karma is the emperor of all Karma. Jain karma theory warns to be cautious of these karma. Karma theory of  Jainism preaches to eradicate Darshan Mohaniya karma and Anantanuvandhi kashaya at first stage to achieve Samyaktwa or Samyag Darshan. And then to eradicate rest of twelve Kashaya and nine No- Kashaya including Hasyadi Shatak and three Veda to obtain Veetraga dasha. Veetraga dasha is the only way to achieve Keval Jnyan (Gyan) or omniscience.

Wish every reader eradication of Mohaniya karma to obtain Veetraga dasha.

Karma Theory Part 1
Karma Theory Part 2
Karma Theory Part 3
Karma Theory part 4
Karma Theory part 5

(Vardhaman Gems, Jaipur represents Centuries Old Tradition of Excellence in Gems and Jewelry)
Please follow us on facebook for latest updates.

No comments:

Post a Comment